A DWI Substance Abuse Assessment is required of everyone who is convicted of Driving While Impaired in the state of North Carolina. You cannot receive a Limited Driving Privilege without a DWI Assessment. DWI Substance Abuse assessments and groups can only be conducted by facilities licensed by the state of North Carolina to meet requirements to restore your driver’s license.
A DWI Substance Abuse Assessment is an alcohol and drug use assessment consisting of an interview by a Licensed or Certified Substance Abuse Counselor and a structured assessment questionnaire to determine if a person has a problem with alcohol or drugs.
Possible outcomes of the DWI assessment are no alcohol or drug use disorder or mild, moderate or severe, alcohol and/or drug use disorder.
The DWI assessment and related paperwork take around 90 minutes.
Please bring the following items to your assessment appointment:
The cost of NC DWI Assessments is $100 + $10.75 to download current driving record.
The $100 fee is established by the Legislature of the State of NC. No agency in the state of NC is allowed by law to charge more or less than the lawful $100 fee. The full fee is to be collected at the time of the assessment.
You can choose any DWI assessment agency you want.
Twin City Counseling Center is fully licensed by NC DWI Services and will assist you with your assessment in a professional, confidential and timely manner.